Cristiano Ronaldo Beats Lionel Messi To Ballon d’Or

Former Manchester United and Real Madrid forward Cristiano Ronaldo has won the Ballon d’Or world footballer of the year award for the second year in a row. 

The Portugal captain beat Barcelona forward Lionel Messi and Bayern Munich goalkeeper Manuel Neuer to the award.

Ronaldo successfully defended his world player of the year status convincingly with 37.66% of all votes, winning for a third time. Barcelona and Argentina counterpart Lionel Messi – who won four years in a row until Ronaldo beat him last year, was second on 15.76%.

He was narrowly ahead of Bayern Munich and Germany keeper Manuel Neuer, who had 15.72%.


Ronaldo receives the Award from Blatter

Ronaldo, who scored 52 goals in 43 games during 2014, looked emotional when collecting the award from former France, Barcelona and Arsenal striker Thierry Henry.

The 29-year-old said: “I would like to thank all of those who voted for me, my president, my coach and Real Madrid. It has been an unforgettable year. To win this trophy at the end of it is something incredibly unique.”

Wolfsburg and Germany midfielder Nadine Kessler was named women’s player of the year, while Colombia’s James Rodriguez won goal of the year.

Germany’s World Cup winner Joachim Low won men’s coach of the year.

Wolfsburg boss Ralf Kellermann was named women’s football coach of the year after a successful defence of the Champions League.

Ballon D'Or4

Team of the year

The three candidates for the Ballon d’Or were all picked in the team of the year, along with defenders Philipp Lahm, David Luiz, Thiago Silva and Sergio Ramos, midfielders Andres Iniesta, Toni Kroos and Angel Di Maria and forward Arjen Robben.


England coach Roy Hodgson picked Javier Mascherano for Ballon d’Or and snubs Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionell Messi while Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi decided against voting for each other. The Portugal international instead picked three Real Madrid team-mates. Messi on the other side selected Argentina team-mate Angel di Maria for the award.


  • Women’s Player of the year – Wolfsburg and Germany midfielder Nadine Kessler
  • Puskas Award (Goal of the year) – Colombia’s James Rodriguez  vs Uruguy in World cup 2014
  • Wolrd coach (Men’s football) – Germany boss Joachim Low.
  • World coach – (Women’s football) – Wolfsburg boss Ralf Kellermann
  • Fair play Award – thousands of volunteers who gave up their time to work at Fifa competitions
  • Presidential Award – Japanese journalist Hiroshi Kagawa



Most Popular

To Top
Powered by Live Score & Live Score App
error: Content is protected !!