Cristiano Ronaldo Equals Lionel Messi’s Record After Winning Fifth Ballon d’Or 2017 Award

Real Madrid forward Cristiano Ronaldo and Barcenola’s Lionel Messi surely are running their own race when it comes to winning individual. The two have practically swept all awards on offer in the last decade or so and look like are not going to stop any soon.

With the most recent accolade the Ballon d’Or 2017 going to their former, the two are now on level terms after each bagging five of the precious metal.

Ronaldo 32 has now won a second year in a row after yet again beating his closest rival 30-year old Argentine Lionel Messi who won the most recent of his five awards in 2015.

With the chasing pack looking more and more left behind, Messi’s ex-Barcelona team-mate Neymar, who is now at Paris St-Germain seems to be the one trying to narrow the gap after coming a distant third.


Last season, Ronaldo helped Real Madrid win the Champions League and their first La Liga title since 2012.

Ronaldo added the 2017 Ballon d’Or to those he won in 2008, 2013, 2014 and 2016, and Messi is the only other recipient of the award since 2009.

“This is something I look forward to every year,” he said, after receiving the award on the Eiffel Tower in Paris.

“Thanks to my Real Madrid team-mates. And I want to thank the rest of the people who helped me reach this level.”

The 2016-17 campaign was a stellar season for the former Manchester United player.

After helping Portugal win Euro 2016, he scored 42 goals for Real in all competitions as they won their 33rd La Liga title and 12th European Cup.

He scored twice in a 4-1 Champions League final win over Juventus and netted 25 times in 29 league games as Los Blancos finished three points ahead of Barcelona.

The Ballon d’Or is voted for by 173 journalists from around the world.

It has been awarded by France Football every year since 1956, but for six years it became the Fifa Ballon d’Or in association with world football’s governing body and was awarded to the world’s best player.

However, Fifa ended its association with the award in September 2016.

At Fifa’s awards in October, Ronaldo was named the world’s best male player and also named in the Fifpro World XI.

Cristiano Ronaldo gives his son to hold the trophy

Most Popular

To Top
Powered by Live Score & Live Score App
error: Content is protected !!