David Emong wins 33rd Edition’s USPA Sports Personality Of The Year Award 

Photo Credit: Allan Ahumuza/Chano8

The 33rd Uganda Sports Press Association (USPA) Nile Special gala was held at the Imperial Royale Hotel in Kampala last Friday the 22nd of July 2018 where David Emong won the sports personality of the year award for winning the men’s 1,500 T46 World Para Athletics Championship gold medal at the games in London. 

Emong’s two wins made him the first Para athlete to take home the biggest prize of the day.

It was glamour and glitz as the evening was warmed up by great songs from the legendary Afrigo Band. Andrew Kabuura and KFM’s Malaika headlined the event. Speaker of the Parliament of Uganda handed over the prize to smiling David Emong.

Unlike other past Awards where food and refreshments are served at the beginning of the event, this time round  there was a change in program because the guest of honour as on hurry to leave for other engagements. Sponsors Nile special treated the revelers to a VIP treatments as drinks were in plenty

Mr Emong showing off his award

The speaker of parliament Honorable Rebecca Kadaga was the guest of honour

KFM’s Malaika Nnyanzi was the host


Nile Special USPA Sports Personality of the year: David Emong

Nile Special USPA Team of the Year: National Rugby 7s team

Best Organised Event of the Year: IAAF World Cross Championships

Nile Special USPA Best Run Federation of the Year: Uganda Athletics Federation

Nile Special USPA Legendary Award: Simon Mugabi


USPA Female Athlete 2017 –Josephine Lalam

Nile Special USPA Male Athlete 2017- David Emong


Nile Special USPA Boxer 2017 – Muzamir Kakande


Nile Special USPA Footballer 2017- Geoffrey Sserunkuma

Nile Special USPA Female Footballer 2017-Vanessa Edith Karungi


Nile Special USPA Rally Crew 2017- Christakis Fitidis and Eric Nzamwita


Nile Special USPA Male golfer 2017- Ronald Rugumayo

Nile Special USPA Female golfer 2017- Martha Babirye


Nile Special USPA Male cricketer 2017- Kenneth Waisswa

Nile Special USPA Female cricketer 2017- Gertrude Chandiru


Nile Special USPA Male Pool player 2017- Fahad Ssewankambo

Nile Special USPA Female Pool player 2017- Victoria Namuyanja


USPA Male Badminton player 2017- Brian Kasirye

USPA Female Badminton player 2017- Husnah Kobugabe


Nile Special USPA Male Karateka 2017- Ronald Mwanje

Nile Special USPA Female Karateka 2017- Linda Ochen

Table Tennis

Nile Special USPA Male T/Tennis player 2017- Duncan Mugabe


Nile Special USPA Female Woodball player of 2017-

Nile Special USPA Male Woodball player 2017-


Nile Special USPA weightlifter 2017- Hakim Ssempereza


Nile Special USPA Female rugby player 2017- Samiya Ayikoru

Nile Special USPA Male rugby player 2017- Phillip Wokorach


Nile Special USPA Male Basketball player 2017- Jimmy Enabu

To Top