David Lutalo, Sheebah, Bebe Cool And Goodlyfe Dominate HiPipo Music Awards

The fourth edition of the HiPipo music words happened on Saturday evening at Kampala Serena hotel and as some artistes were left disappointed, many left with their heads high for accomplishing what looks like the only genuine awarding ceremony in Uganda.

With the theme ‘The fans decide’ David Lutalo scooped the biggest awards of the night, artiste of the year as well as the male artiste category. Sheebah Karungi on the other hand took home the best Video (Siri Zari) and female artiste of the year.


David Lutalo won big at the awards


Sheebah holding her award of best video of the year

Bebe Cool who had for the last three years been voted artiste of the year, this time round only took two awards (Best album and best reggae song ‘Go Mama) while his crew Gagamel Phamily took best active fans group.

Goodlyfe Crew were also jubilant after winning the best song (Juicy), best group and Radio being voted the song writer of the year.


Radio showing off his award of Best Song writer of the year

Winnie Nwagi was voted breakthrough artiste, Navio’s ‘Kigozi’ taking the best Hip Hop song and Ziza Bafana’s Friendly match’ alongside Zanie Brown taking the best dancehall song. ‘Linda’ by Chris Evans and Rema was voted best RnB song, Shiru winning best DJ and ‘Memories’ by A Pass and Lillian took the best Zouk song.

But the disappointment of the night was the procedure the organizers used to hand out the grand price of a convertible Peugeot 207 car. Initially they had stated that the fan who votes the most will be getting the car but when Igama Benedict a policeman according to our research was announced the winner, marched from the VIP section of the venue, was never surprised about the price and in his statement said he texted ‘Once in a while’. This exposed them and a good section of the audience was heard saying it was planned for him to win it.


Igama Benedict feeling the comfort of the peugeot convertible


Igama Benedict poses besides the Peugeot Convertible 207 he won

Performances came from Nutty Neithan, Juju, SamalieMatovu and Diana Nalubega among others but the event started with a red carpet moment.


One of the revelers on the red carpet run way

Below is the full list of winners:

Best audio producer

Dr Fizol

Best Video Producer

Savy Films’ – Sasha Vybz

Best Song writer

Moses Radio

Best Hip Hop Song

Kigozi by Navio

Best RnB Song

Linda by Rema and Chris Evans

Best Ragga-Dancehall Song

Friendly Match by Ziza Bafana and Zanie Brown

Best Reggae Song

Go Mama by Bebe Cool

Best Religious Song

Saum Kareem by Swahaba Kasumba

Best Band Song

Nkuze by Maureen Nantume

Best Folk/KadongoKamu Song

Akalulu by Saava Karim

Best Zouk Song

Memories by A Pass & Lillian Mbabazi

Best Afrobeat Song

Mpulunguse by Diana Nalubega

Best Afro pop Song

Tusasanya by Prof. Big Eye

Best Regional Song

Go On – Pine Avenue 5 All Stars and Barbi Jay (North)

Best DJ

DJ Shiru

East Africa Best Video

Nana by Diamond Platinumz Ft Mr Flavour (Tanzania)

East Africa Super Hit

Nana by Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)

Most Active Fans Group

Gagamel Phamily

Artist of the Year

David Lutalo

Best Male Artist

David Lutalo

Best Female Artist

Sheebah Karungi

Best Music Group

Radio and Weasel

Best Breakthrough Artist

Winnie Nwagi

Album of the Year

Go Mama by Bebe Cool

Video of the Year

SiriZari by Sheebah

Song of the Year

Juicy by Radio and Weasel

Winner of Convertible Peugeot 207  

Igama Benedict.

Life Time Achievement Award.

Paul Saka.

Video Trail blazer Award.

Triplets (Ghetto kids).


Most Popular

To Top
error: Content is protected !!