Why Denis Onyango Missed Out On Defending His ‘Best Player In Africa’ Award

Dennis Onyango emerged the winner in a recent CAF Twitter poll but yesterday, he didn’t even appear on Africa’s best team of 2017 in the CAF awards that happened in the capital city of Ghana on Thursday night.

In the selected team, Morocco’s Aymen Matlouthi is in the goal but we were able to get some information as to why the Ugandan stopper didn’t win anything.

We learnt that much as Onyango had won in the twitter poll, he was beaten by the Moroccan in the CAF vote and on weighing both, he stood no chance.

Besides that, CAF, a few months ago decided to scrap two award categories from the previous editions among which was the African Player of the Year based in Africa, an accolade that Onyango won in the previous edition of the annual ceremony. They also scrapped Referee of the year award from the list.   

The African Footballer of the year award-based in Africa which Onyango won last year.

However, Denis Onyango should be proud because he is the last player in history to have won the African player of the year based in Africa.

The Uganda cranes, which won the Team of the year in the 2016 category, were leapfrogged by Egypt.  

The event held in Accra Ghana was dubbed the ‘AITEO CAF AWARDS 2017’ that awarded personalities in the football industry over the last year.

Onyango won Champions League and also goalkeeper of the year

The full list of winners on the night is as follows:

Egypt and Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah as 2017 African Player of the Year
2nd place – Sadio mane of Senegal and Liverpool
3rd place – Pierre Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon and Dortmund. Platinum award to Ghana president Nana Akufo-Addo & Liberia president-elect George Weah
Female footballer of the year: Assisat Oshoola of Nigeria
National team of the year: Pharaohs of Egypt
Young African footballer of the year: Patson Daka (Zambia)
Coach of the Year: Hector Cuper of Egypt
Club of the year: Wydad Athletic Club of Morocco
Football Leader of the Year: Ahmed Yahya.
Women’s National Team Of The Year 2017: Bayana Bayana (South Africa)
CAF Legends Award: Ibrahim Sunday (Ghana)


Onyanyo shows the trophy he won with Mamelodi Sundowns


Most Popular

To Top
error: Content is protected !!