KAVC Off To Cairo For African Club Championships

Ugandan sides Kampala Amateur Volleyball Club (KAVC) and Nemo stars are in Cairo for the African Club Championships and set Off early this morning.

KAVC qualified to represent the country after winning the National Club Championship while Nemo earned the rights by winning the 2017 National League respectively.

The KAVC team comprising 18 people (14 players and 3 technical staff) were flagged off at Lugogo

Last week SMS ONE (U) joined other corporate companies and individuals in supporting the Kampala Amateur Volleyball Club in their fundraising drive to send the team to Cairo-Egypt after running short of funds to comfortably send the team for the competitions.

The KAVC players during the flag off in Lugogo yesterday. 

Players pose for photos with officials and fans before setting off to Cairo


Earlier today the draws for the tournament that attracted over 24 clubs from across the continent were made and runs from 27th March till April 6th 2018.

2018 Men’s African Club championship.

Defending Champions Ahly will meet Uganda’s Nemostar in the opening game. The drawing of lots for the 2018 Men’s African Club Championship was done at Pyramisa Hotel in Cairo, Egypt on Monday in presence of CAVB President Dr Amr Elwani, the Control Committee President Mounir Benslimane and the representative of the 24 participating teams where the teams were distributed into 4 pools

Defending Champions Ahly were drawn in Pool A along with Prisons (KEN), Police (CIV), Espoir (COD), Nemostar (UGA) and Redskin (LES).

Pool B show Al Swehly (LBA) fight against Finances (BEN), Swimblue (SEY), DGSP (CGO), Aviation (EGY) and Bafia (CMR).

In Pool C FAP (CMR) will battle it out with AS Police (BEN), Ahly Beni Ghazi (LBA), University (ZIM), Smuoha (EGY) and Mwangaza (COD).

Cameroon’s Port will combat Olympique (ALG), Kampala (UGA), GSU (KEN), Wollaitta (ETH) and 2016 champions Guish (EGY).

Pool Composition

Pool A: Ahly (EGY)- Prisons (KEN)- Police (CIV)- Espoir (COD)- Nemostar (UGA)- Redskin (LES)

Pool B: Al Swehly (LBA)- Finances (BEN)- Swimblue (SEY)- DGSP (CGO)- Aviation (EGY)- Bafia (CMR)

Pool C: FAP (CMR)- AS Police (BEN)- Ahly B (LBA)- University (ZIM)- Smuoha (EGY)- Mwangaza (COD)

Pool D: Port (CMR)- Olympique (ALG)- Kampala (UGA)- GSU (KEN)- Wollaitta (ETH)- Elguish (EGY)

Day 1 Programme

Pool A: Ahly (EGY) v Nemostar (UGA)

Police (CIV) v Espoir (COD)

Prisons (KEN) v Red Skins (LES)

Pool B: Bafia (CMR) v Swehly (LBA)

DGSP (CGO) v Swimblue (SEY)

Aviation (EGY) v Finances (BEN)

Pool C: University (ZIM) v Ahly B (LBA)

Police (BEN) v Mwangaza (COD)

Smouha (EGY) v FAP (CMR)

Pool D: Wolaitta (ETH) v Port (CMR)

GSU (CMR) v Olympique (ALG)

Kampala (UGA) v Elguish (EGY)

The team at Entebbe Airport en route to Cairo and trains (BELOW) after arrival (courtesy photos)


Center Player’s
Gabriel Yikita
Ariho Pius
Odeke Vincent
Amanya Allam

Mugabi Ishaq
Isiagi Elias
Jacob Olila (C)
Mathew Mwenyi

Opposite Hitters
Jeff Onapa
Jensen Chestit

Emma Elanyu
Ibrahim Kayanja

Amon Ainebyona
Martin Kalema

Head of Delegation
Milly Kure

David Okot




To Top
error: Content is protected !!