Kenzo Wins Big As Hipipo Music Awards Announce 2020 Winners Online. See Full List Here

The organisers of the HiPipo Music Awards last night announced the winners for 2020 in a scientific awards ceremony online after their event in February at Kampala Serena Hotel was postponed due to the Coronavirus outbreak.

The 9th Edition of the HiPipo Music Awards gala couldn’t be held then as stories of the outbreak of the deadly virus started dominating news. Although Ugandan had not yet registered any case or even locked down, the organisers decided it wasn’t the right time to hold an event that would have flopped as many people were already avoding crowds..

Today’s virtual event the was held live on the official HiPipo Facebook page with all the winners being announced with artists like Sheebah, Alvin Kizz, Roden Y(Kabako) gracing the event with performances.

BET Award winner Eddie Kenzo who is stuck in Ivory Coast was the biggest winner as he was crowned Africa’s Number 1 and Artiste of the Year among other big awards.

Below Is the full List of the Winners.


Africa’s Number 1 – Eddy Kenzo (Uganda)

Africa Song of The Year –  Bigtril – Parte After Parte (Uganda)

Best Song from Francophone Africa –  Innoss’B – Yope (DRC)

Best Song from Western Africa – Joeboy – Baby (Nigeria)

Best Song from Southern Africa King –  Monada- Chuwana (South Africa)

Best Song from Northern/Arabic Africa – Mohamed Ramadan – Mafia
Africa Fans Favorite Fresh Talent –  Mbosso (Tanzania)

East Africa

Kenya Best Act – Otile Brown X Khaligraph Jones – Japo Kidogo

Tanzania Best Act – Diamond Platnumz – The One

Rwanda Best Act – Deejay Pius – Homba Homboka (High Heels)

Burundi Best Act-  Natacha -Ufise Gute
East Africa Super Hit – Diamond Platnumz – The One (Tanzania)

Artist of The Year – Eddy Kenzo

Best Female Artist – Sheebah

Best Male Artist –
Eddy Kenzo

Best Breakthrough Artist – John Blaq

Best A-Cappella Group – Jehovah Shalom

Must Watch Talent – Lydia Bless

Best DJ – Dj Slick Stuart & Dj Roja

Video of The Year – Kabako – Sabisubira

Song of The Year (Uganda)– John Blaq – Do Dat

Best Audio Producer – Producer Ronnie

Best Video Director – Nolton And George (NG Filmz)

Best Song Writer – Daddy Andre

Best Hip-Hop/Rap Song – Bigtril – Parte After Parte

Best Soul Song Kenneth – Mugabi – Oliwa

Best Ragga/Dancehall Song – Sheebah x Orezi – Sweet Sensation

Best Reggae Song – Fille & Voltage Music – Squeeze

Best Band Song – Chris Evans – Call Me

Best Contemporary Folk Song – Da Agent & Betinah Fasie – Bamungamba

Best Kadongo Kamu Song – Kasule Cereste – Stress Free

Best Zouk Song – B2C & Rema – Gutujja

Best Afrobeat Song – John Blaq – Do Dat

Best Afropop Song –  John Blaq – Ebyalagirwa

Best Social Message – David Lutalo – Ensi

Best School Act – Amasomero G’abazira Ba Cbs – Happy Birthday Ssaabasajja

Best Religious/Gospel Act – Levixone Ft. Timeless Noel – Chikibombe

Written Record Of The Year Spice – Diana & Ray G writer for Omusheshe

Best Collabo – B2C & Rema – Gutujja

Best Choreography – Ghetto Kids – Triplets

Best Song from Eastern Region –  Irene Kayemba – Kankinemu

Best Song from Northern Region – Professor Maros – Med Mac

Best Song from Southern Region – Mayor Chris Johnz – Nkooye Obwomu

Best Song from Western Region – Ray G – Weeshe

Best Cinematography/Editing – Martin Beta for Ogwo (Eddy Kenzo ft Wembly Mo Foundation)

Most Stylish Artist – Fik Fameika

Best Rnb Song Slick – Stuart, DJ Roja – Sunday ft. Allan Toniks

Video TrailBlazer – Masaka Kids Afrikana

Exeptional Young Act – Fresh Kid

Life Time Achievement Award –
Moses Matovu of Afrigo Band

Producer of the Generation – Dr. Tee – Kazibwe Travis

Golden Medal of Honour for Supporting Preservation Ugandan Sound and Identity. Gen. Salim Saleh


Most Popular

To Top