Liverpool’s Salah Adds Yet Another Individual Accolade


Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah has been named the Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year after beating Manchester City midfielder Kevin de Bruyne who came second and Tottenham striker Harry Kane in third.

This is proving to be the year for 25-year old Salah who has scored 31 goals in 34 league appearances for Liverpool so far this season. He has scored 43 goals in all competitions after signing for £34m from Roma in the summer. Kevin de Bruyne on the other side has been instrumental in helping Manchester City win the Premier league title and the Carabao Cup.

This comes after the Egypt star also first won the BBC African Footballer of the year award and the Professional Footballers’ Association player of the year award in April.

Slaha also won the Professional Footballers’ Association player of the year award  

The ex-Chelsea and Basel winger was instrumental for Liverpool as he netted twice in the first leg of Liverpool’s Champions League semi-final tie with his former club Roma at Anfield last week. Jurgen Klopp’s side are already in Italy for the return leg tonight at  the Stadio Olimpico where they lead the Italians 5-2.

It was a tight race between Salah and De Bruyne with the two collecting 90% of the votes from members of the Football Writers’ Association in a ballot of over 400 FWA members, with the winning margin less than 20 votes.

Salah and De Bruyne have had good seasons

“Right up to the last week or so we thought it might happen again, so strong was the support for Kevin de Bruyne,” said Patrick Barclay the FWA chairman.

“But Mo Salah’s relentless match-winning form, exemplified by his two great goals against Roma, seems to have swung the vote by a very narrow margin.” He added.

Mo Salah is now a strong contender for the Ballon D’or which has been dominated by Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi who are also up for the award.


To Top