Return Of ‘The Special One’: Mourhino Replaces Sacked Pochettino As Spurs Manager

Former Chelsea and Manchester United boss Jose Mourinho has been appointed Tottenham manager after the sacking of Mauricio Pochettino on Tuesday.

Mourinho has signed a contract until the end of the 2022-23 season and was quick to give reasons why he decided to take on the job. The quality in both the squad and the academy excites me,” said the 56-year-old Portuguese. “Working with these players is what has attracted me.”

The Argentine had been under some pressure from fans and the media in recent weeks after a slow start to the 2019/20 season, winning just two league games since an opening weekend victory over Aston Villa. Spurs chairman Daniel Levy said: “In Jose we have one of the most successful managers in football.”

Just a few month ago, Tottenham reached the Champions League final last season under Pochettino, but lost 2-0 to Liverpool in Madrid although the Argentine, who was appointed in May 2014, did not win a trophy in his time in charge of the north London club, with Spurs’ last silverware being the League Cup in 2008.

Good bye: Mauricio Pochettino has been shown the exit after a poor run of results.

Levy said Mourinho has “a wealth of experience, can inspire teams and is a great tactician”.

“He has won honours at every club he has coached,” he added. “We believe he will bring energy and belief to the dressing room.”

Mourinho still has a home in London and won three Premier League titles – in 2005, 2006 and 2015 – as well as one FA Cup in two spells at Chelsea.

Jose is one of the world’s most accomplished managers having won 25 senior trophies. He is renowned for his tactical prowess and has managed FC Porto, Inter Milan, Chelsea, Real Madrid and Manchester United.

New man Jose Mourhino is taking charge of a struggling Spurs side.

He has won a domestic title in a record four different countries (Portugal, England, Italy and Spain) and is one of only three managers to have won the UEFA Champions League twice with two clubs, FC Porto in 2004 and Inter Milan in 2010. He is also a three-time Premier League Champion with Chelsea (2005, 2006, 2015).

Most Popular

To Top