‘The Big Three’ Artistes Not Nominated In This Year’s Zzina Awards

Courtesy Photo

When we mention the big three artistes in Uganda, the mind takes you straight to Jose Chameleone, Bebe Cool and Bobi Wine. But that seems not to be the case lately as Sheebah Karungi, Cindy Sanyu, Ykee Benda and Fic Fameica squeezed themselves into the equation.

Zzina Awards seems to have stamped on that because the just released nomination list, the three artistes are missing out.

It is understandable that Bebe Cool told all local award organisers never to nominate him again while Bobi Wine decided to concentrate on politics.

The annual Zzina Awards unlike the past four editions where the event has been happening at Theatre Labonita, will this time round be held at Sky Beach on Freedom City.

The 5th edition which is slated for the 24th of March will see 18 artistes walking away with awards in different categories.

At a press conference held at Galaxy FM on Webesday evening, different nominees were read but some of the categories to watch out for include ‘Breakthrough Artiste’ which has Fic Fameica, Latinum, Nina Roz, Topic Kasente and Vinka, ‘Best Song Writer’ has Black Skin, Dr Brain, Mowzey Radio and Yese Oman Rafiki, ‘Best Comedian’ has Mariachi tussling it out with Dr T. Amale, MC Kapale, Madrat & Chiko, Tata Sam and Teacher Mpamire, ‘Best Female Artiste’ has Cindy, Fille, Irene Ntale, Rema, Sheebah and Spice Diana and finally Best Male artiste B2C, David Lutalo, Eddy Kenzo, Fik Fameica, Geosteady and Ykee Benda.

In the ‘Artiste Of The Year’ category, which is the biggest award, B2C trio will be battling with David Lutalo, Fik Fameica, Geosetady, Rema, Sheeba and Ykee Benda for the top price. 

According to Galaxy FM CEO Innocent Nahabwe, the artistes are nominated entirely on merit and the fans will decide the ultimate winners in the different categories, adding that there will be a special tribute award to honour artistes who have passed on.

Sheeba Karungi was one of the biggest winners last year when she scooped both the female and artiste of the year accolade. Will she be able to defend her thrones?, let us wait and see. 

Here’s the full list of nominees:

Breakthrough Artiste

  • Fik Fameica
    • Latinum
    • Nina Roz
    • Topic Kasente
    • Vinka

Best Song Writer

  • Black Skin
    • Dr. Brain
    • Mowzey Radio
    • Yese Oman Rafiki

Best Lugaflow/Rap Song

  • Emyaka – Gravity
    • Kale Bba – Da Agent
    • Kutama – Fik Fameica
    • Ssente Zange – Mun G
    • Yes/No – Feffe Bussi

Best Lugaflow/Rap Artiste

  • Da Agent
    • Feffe Bussi
    • Fik Fameica
    • Gravity
    • Mun G

Best Contemporary/RnB Artiste

  • Fille
    • Geosteady
    • Lydia Jazmine
    • Moses Radio
    • Rema

Best Collaboration Song

  • Big Bumpa – Kemishan + Mun G
    • Gutamiiza – B2C + Radio And Weasel
    • Overdose – Kent & Flosso (Voltage Music) + Vinka
    • Owooma – Geosteady + Charly Na Nina
    • Sitani Tonkema – Roden Y + Fik Fameica + Sheebah
    • Tukigale – Eddy Yawe + Carol Nantongo

Best Inspirational Song

  • Banyabo – Rema
    • I’m Still Here – Juliana
    • Soma – Pallaso
    • Superwoman – Bobi Wine Featuring Nubian Li
    • Tambula Nange – Moze Radio

Showbiz Personality

  • Anita Fabiola
    • Brian White
    • Don Zella
    • S.K Mbuga
    • Zari

Best Comedian

  • Dr. T. Amale
    • Kapale
    • Madrat & Chiko
    • Mariachi
    • Tata Sam
    • Teacher Mpamire

Best Producer

  • Andre
    • Atin
    • Danz Ku Mapeesa
    • Eno Beats
    • Kuseim
    • Nessim
    • The Weezy

Best Female Artiste

  • Cindy
    • Fille
    • Irene Ntale
    • Rema
    • Sheebah
    • Spice Diana

Best Fans Team

  • Sheebaholics
    • Team B2C
    • Team Radio And Weasel
    • Team Spice Diana

Best Male Artiste

  • B2C
    • David Lutalo
    • Eddy Kenzo
    • Fik Fameica
    • Geosteady
    • Ykee Benda

Best Afro Beat Song

  • Muwe – Sheebah
    • Nyongera – B2C
    • Nze Mutuufu – Eddy Kenzo
    • Overdose – Kent & Flosso + Vinka
    • Superstar – Jose Chameleone
    • Tikula – Rema
    • Wololo – David Lutalo

Song Of The Year

  • Gutamiiza – B2C Featuring Radio And Weasel
    • Kutama – Fik Fameica
    • Sitani Tonkema – Roden Y Featuring Fik Fameica & Sheebah
    • Superman – Ykee Benda
    • Tokendeeza – Geosteady
    • Yo Sweet – Rema

Artiste Of The Year

  • B2C
    • David Lutalo
    • Fik Fameica
    • Geosteady
    • Rema
    • Sheebah
    • Ykee Benda

Best Dancehall Song

  • Amanya Gange – Latinum
    • Big Bumpa – Kemishan & Mun G
    • Nzuuno – Rabadaba
    • Pon Mi – DJ Slick Stuart & DJ Roja Featuring Beenie Gunter
    • Up In Di Air – DJ Slick Stuart & DJ Roja Featuring Kemishan & Cindy

Best Dancehall Artiste

  • Beenie Gunter
    • Cindy
    • Kemishan
    • Kent & Flosso (Voltage Music)
    • Latinum
    • Rabadaba


Most Popular

To Top