The Nitty Gritty At The Club Music Video Awards 2017

All photos By Habre Muriisa

Yesterday night (18th of March 2017), local music videos Uganda loves were for the second time awarded at the Club Music Video awards (CMVAs) at a glamorous blue carpet function that took place at Kampala Serena Hotel’s Victoria Hall.

Kicking off as early as 7 PM, the night’s agenda began with the blue carpet session where attendees had all the time to pose for photos without forgetting that this was the first ever blue carpet event in Uganda’s history. Revellers were as usual dressed to impress with Kitege being one of the attires worn most. This went on up to 9:30 PM when the awarding part commenced.


Abaasa was overwhelmed with awards. His ‘Voice Inside’ song’s video with Patrobas won 5 awards.


Urban TV’s Denzel and NTV’S Sheilah Gashumba on the blue Carpet

The awarding session that was hosted by comedian Alex Muhangi and radio presenter Crystal Newman was kicked off with a performance from Karama who ignited the crowd’s excitement singing his hit single ‘Amasanyalaze Negagenda’. It was a night for Abaasa and Patrobas whose ‘Voice Inside’ song’s video won in 5 categories.

While handing over the awards to the specific winners, they had several breaks in form of musical performances which kept the revellers active and entertained from artistes like Spice Diana, Voltage Music, Hellen Lukoma, Lillian Mbabazi, B2C and Vampino respectively.


Comedian Alex Muhangi and Crystal Newman were the hosts


Spice Diana performing


Karama perfoming Amasanyalaze Negagenda

The event was attended by encouraging number that gives organisers a go ahead next year and the coming years and Chano8 spotted some guests like Ragga Dee, Miss Uganda 2017 Leah Kagasa, Leila Kayondo, Aly Allibhai, Keko, Frank Gashumba J Kazoora, top TV presenters and other local artistes who were nominated and not.


The awards were well attended


Lilian Mbabazi perfporming


Hellen Lukoma perfoming

A special round of applause goes to companies Flycorp and Rockstar 4000 who did production near to perfection and Fenon events for the good stage set up and sound. Until next year, the club music video awards is a platform that will always recognise Uganda’s local music videos.

Check out some pictures. More pictures coming….

cindy at cmva

Cindy featuring Kenya’s Wahu ‘Yeye’ song’s video won in the category of best use of technology


Vampino performing

Kim Swaga And Abryanz

Fashion designers Abryanz (left) and Kim Swaga in attendance


Exodus’ ‘Nyinimu’ video won the category of best choreography



The blue carpet session got revellers like this

Below is the full list of winners. NB: the nominees’ names in bold and italics are the winners in each category.

Best Choreography

Magic – Winnie Nwagi
Njogereza – Navio
Kabulengane – Bebe Cool
Nyinimu – Exodus

Best Cinematography

Akaliro – Rema
Voice Inside – Patrobas x Abaasa
Yeye – Cindy Sanyu x Wahu Kagwi
Mariana – A Pass

Best Costume and Make Up

Sembera – Irene Ntale
Only You – Lilian Mbabazi
Bukolomoni – Byazy x Cindy Sanyu
Mbilo Mbilo (remix) – Eddy Kenzo and Niniola

Best Directing

Style & Flows – Double 5
Sembera – Irene Ntale
Voice Inside – Patrobas and Abaasa
Magic – Winnie Nwagi

Best Duo or Group

Pull Up – Kent and Flosso (Voltage Music)
Plenty Plenty – Radio & Weasel
Nkwagala – B2C
Dagala – Radio & Weasel

Best Set Design

Thank You – Benjamin Spartos
Sembera – Irene Ntale
Mwana Gwe – King Saha
Nkwatako – Sheebah Karungi

Best Special Effects

Emergency – Keya Nemesis
Pistol – Fik Fameikha
Smart Wire – Vampino
IAIAO – Black Skin

Best Use of Technology

Voice Inside – Patroba and Abaasa
Still Standing – Cindy Sanyu
Yeye – Cindy Sanyu & Wahu
Kabako – Roden Y
Tempo (Remix) – Cindy Sanyu and Dufla Diligon

Collaboration of The Year

Only You – Lilian Mbabazi
Gamululu – APass and Konshens
Bukolomoni – Byaxy and Cindy
Yeye – Cindy Sanyu and Wahu
Voice Inside – Patrobas and Abaasa

Female Video Of the Year

Magic – Winnie Nwagi
Go Down – Irene Ntale
Akaliro – Rema
Omukwano gwe Kilo – Irene Ntale

Inspirational Message Video Of The Year

Tonzoleya – Topic Kasente Ft Sheebah
Gwenafunye – Esther Nabatanzi
Thank You – Benjamin Spartos
Voice Inside – Patrobas and Abaasa

Male Video Of The year

Plenty Plenty – Radio & Weasel
Viva Africa – Eddy Kenzo
Voice Inside – Patrobas and Abaasa
Movie Star – Mi Casa x Eddy Kenzo

Newcomer Of The Year

Thank You – Benjamin Spartos
Run Away – Abaasa (Winner)
Gwenafunye – Esther Nabatanzi
Tonzoleya – Topic Kasente x Sheebah

Viral Video Of The Year

Musawo – Winnie Nwagi
Magic – Winnie Nwagi
Farmer (Remix) – Ykee Benda x Sheebah

Video Of The Year

Go Down – Irene Ntale
Voice Inside – Patrobas and Abaasa
Movie Star – Eddy Kenzo
Omukwano – Irene Ntale

Special Recognition (was not up for nomination)

Daniel Ogong (Former NBL Marketing Director)



Most Popular

To Top