Young Guns Dominate Hip Hop Awards 2017

The second edition of the UG Hip-Hop Awards went down on Thursday at the Golf Course Hotel with mainly fresh talent dominating the awards unlike the first edition last year where the big guns were in top form.

The biggest awards of the night were taken by names not so familiar in the music and entertainment domain although they are big in the Hip-hop arena. Pryce Teeba took the Best Male Rapper of the year award beating the likes of Mun*G, Fefe Busi, Byg Ben and Gravity Omuttujju while Fasie walked away with the Female Rapper of the year accolade ahead of the likes of MC Yallah, Shirley May, Ninja C, Malika.

Female and Male Rappers of the year Fasie and Pryce Teeba

Big names like Navio (who won Male Rapper Of the Year) and Keko (Female Rapper Of The Year)last year were not even nominated this time although they dominated last year. Navio though managed to win Rap fusion award for ‘Tumunonye’ and then put up an electrifying performance to crown off the night’s proceedings alongside Kenyan superstar rapper Breed.

The awards organised by Tribe Music UG and powered by MTN Uganda and Club beer also saw many other categories dominated by young guns who seem to be bridging the gap with the veterans and they submitted good works with lyrical maturity and well-arranged rhythm flow that caught the attention of the judges who appreciated the works done in the past year. This proves the genre is still here to stay especially when big brands come on board to support these words.

Flex D’Paper(L) won Album of the year award

However, not all awards were swept by the young blood only as The Mith won Song of the year ‘Bust A Shot’ (Featuring Nutty Neithan) while Atlas Da African won Video of the year award for the song ‘Rather Be With You’.

From the regional contests, it was Amani AManigga the man of the moment who won Best Rapper –Western after receiving 3 nominations. He looks to be set to also compete alongside big names based in the central region especially after his hit song ‘Zagwa’ was nominated for Song Of The Year.

Familiar faces: The Mith (C) and Navio(R) also won awards

Timothy CODE celebrates after receiving his award

The event also had some top-notch performances and saw Lil-Rich win Overall MTN Cypher Challenge winner and walking with 1 Million shillings.   


Male Rapper Of the Year

  • Pryce Teeba
  • •Mun*G
    •Fefe Busi
    •Byg Ben

Female Rapper Of The Year

  • Fasie
    •MC Yallah
    •Shirley May
    •Ninja C

Album Of The Year

  • African Childhood Stories – K.S.L
    •Last Breed – Mickey Solo
    •Something From Nothing – 92XL
    •Tutambula Na Bitambula – Bigsam

Song Of The Year

  • Bust A Shot – The Mith ft. Nutty Neithan
    •Mpambana – MC Yallah
    •Bobi Wine – Pryce Teeba
    •Zagwa – Amani Amanigger
    •Buli Kiro – Play01 & J-Wats

Producer Of The Year

  • Baru
    •Nase Avatar
    •Josh SB
    •Simon Elly

Inspirational Song Of The Year

  • Power – Mal-X
    •I Pray – Brooks
    •Kyendiba – NTM
    •Buwanguzi – Fenrico Lugga
    •My Jesus – Derrick Tha Priest

Video Of The Year

  • Rather Be With You – Atlas Da African
    •God DNA – Josh SB ft. Ruyonga
    •Vuqa Cypher
    •Kuba Engalo – Jora MC
    •Rider – Navio

Collaboration Of The Year

  • Vuqa Cypher
    •On The Wings – Mal-X, Suspekt & Agee
    •Uhangosasa – Byg Ben & Keko
    •Mudaala – Aethan, Tucker, Keko, JB
    •Nvuga Kampala (rmx) – Pryce, Delboy, Play01, Mickey Solo, Habo, Flex D’Paper

Mixtape Of The Year

  • Not For Sale – Flex D’Paper
    •Xtension – Lagum
    •Blind Faith Mixtape – Opu KobokoBoy
    •Bunyoro Ha Map – Crazie Wispa
    •Rap Holds A Fascination- Stylus

Lyricist Of The Year

  • Brooks – I Pray
    •St. Nellysade – 2016 Rap Up
    •Suspekt- Finally Found
    •Stylus – New Level New Devils
    •Keya Nemesis – Bad

Sweet 16 (Verse Of The Year)

  • Nvuga Kampala – Play01
    •6am in Nairobi – Flex D’Paper
    •Vuqa Cypher – TimothyCODE
    •Shabba (rmx) – Tucker HD
    •Lens On – Barna

Rookie Of The Year

  • Fik Fameika
    •JK Lubanto

Diaspora Rapper Of The Year

  • J Baller
    •Double S

Central Rapper Of The Year

  • Keya Nemesis
    •Fik Fameika
    •Da Agent
    •Fefe Bussi
    •St. Nellysade

Northern Rapper Of The Year

  • Opu Kobokoboy
    •MC Wang Jok
    •Ken Lee
    •Toobi Smallz

Eastern Rapper Of The Year

  • Pyramid MC
    •Buka Chimey
    •Benjamin Prince

Western Rapper Of The Year

  • Amani Amanigger
    •Crazie Wispa
    •Slenda MC
    •Trigga Trigga

Rap Fusion Of The Year

  • Big Bumpa – Kemishan & Mun*G
    •Can’t Put Me Down – St. Nellysade & Nutty Neithan
    •Tumunonye – Navio
    •Kapanka – Bantu Clan
    •Someday – Phila & Radney

Deejay Of The Year

  • DJ Crim
    •Tha Dropout
    •DJ Slugface
    •DJ Slaughter Elly
    •DJ Cacie

Media Personality Of The Year

  • Mr. Skillz (XFM)
    •Stephan (Sanyu FM)
    •Toni Blayze (Magic FM)
    •Forever MC (Magic One TV)
    •Byg Kahuna (Hot 100FM)

Life Time Achievement P-Tech

MTN Cypher Challenge winner Lil-Rich (Overall), Up Grade (Runner up)


Most Popular

To Top
error: Content is protected !!